GHOST TO GHOST

A stiff sheet of paper, lying in the street, run over numerous times:

 

Dear Michael,

I know it’s been a long time so I hope this doesn’t seem wierd, but I never felt quite right sending these out so I just hung onto them.

The last time I was at Jeff’s house he had a row of boxes by the front door.  If you ever got one of his boxes then you know what I’m talking about; wind up toys, refrigerator magnets, little things.  Like everything he ever gave, it wasn’t about the gift.  He just wanted to see you open it.

I don’t know what happened to the boxes, but I did manage to keep the cards.  I know it’s been a long time but I think I owe it to him to send them out and it just seemed like the right time.  I still haven’t opened my card.  I guess it feels like some little piece of time would escape forever once the envelope was opened.

He wrote one for Mark even: a Christmas card from a ghost addressed to another ghost.  In what universe does that get delivered?  Makes me smile.

 

There is a signature.  On the reverse side:

 

Dear Michael,

I know it’s been a long time so I hope this doesn’t seem too wierd but I never felt quite comofortable

 

 

One response to “GHOST TO GHOST

  1. What an intriguing find! I want more, lots more. Richard, go back to that spot on the street and search for other letters to Michael.

Leave a Reply

