ASK RUMI ™

Dear Rumi,

Why are the pistachios I shell one by one so much better tasting than pistachios already shelled?

When you do things from your soul you feel a river moving in you, a joy. When action come from another quarter, the feeling vanishes.

Dear Rumi,

Why do I feel compelled to eat every last pistachio in the bag?

As you start to walk out on the way, the way appears.

Dear Rumi,

If one unshelled pistachio falls into the bowl of shells, should I search for it?

I’m not asking for pistachio candy, but for your everlasting love. Fifty times I’ve said, “Heart, stop hunting and step into this net.”

Dear Rumi,

What do you do with the ones that aren’t cracked open far enough to get your thumbnail in?

A secret freedom opens through a crevice you can barely see.

Dear Rumi,

Do you throw them out the door for the birds?

All day I think about it, then at night I say it. Where did I come from, what am I supposed to be doing? I have no idea. My soul is from elsewhere, I’m sure of that, and I intend to end up there.

2 responses to “ASK RUMI ™

  1. Francine Schwarzenberger

    Loved your entry for today! Bring in some more pistachios for more enlightenment….

  2. A very good one for ending the week. By the way, I bought a bag of pistachios last week. Love ’em. Will have some “food for thought” when I’m munching.

    HAPPY WEEK END TO YOU!!!

    Joanne Gillis

Leave a Reply

